Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NCCCLA Conference

Thursday, March 30 Presentation Documents

8:50 a.m. - 9:40 a.m. Sessions

What Have We Lost? A Unified Effort to Preserve & Increase Access to NC Community College History
Presenters: Clark Adams, Debbie Luck, and Lisa Gregory
Contact: ncccarchivesassociation@gmail.com

How to Sound Like a Medical Librarian Even If You Aren't One
Presenters:
Kory Paulus, CPCC, Kory.Paulus@cpcc.edu
Amy Burns, CPCC,
Amy.Burns@cpcc.edu

Textbook Affordability & Open Educational Resources (OER) at Your Library
Presenters:
Caroline Hallam, NC LIVE, caroline@nclive.org
Beth Bernhardt, UNC-G, beth_bernhardt@uncg.edu
Garrison Libby, Tidewater CC, alibby@tcc.edu
David Wright, Surry CC, wrightd@surry.edu
Elizabeth Siler, UNC-C, esiler3@uncc.edu

 

1:50 p.m. - 2:40 p.m. Sessions

The Myths & Facts of Copyright
Presenter: Cheryl Ann Coyle, Central Piedmont CC, Cheryl.Coyle@cpcc.edu

Get Graphic! Use Multimedia eResources to Promote Your Library
Presenters:
Caroline Hallam, NC LIVE, caroline@nclive.org
Samantha O'Connor, CCCC, socon214@cccc.edu

More than Bathrooms: Protecting Rights in North Carolina?
Presenters:
Michael Crumpton, UNC-G, macrumpt@uncg.edu
Rodney Lippard, USC Aiken, RodneyL@usca.edu

 

2:50 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. Sessions

Let's Make Something! Exploring Maker Activities in Our Libraries
Presenters:
Samantha O'Connor, CCCC, socon214@cccc.edu
Julie Humphrey, Durham Tech CC, humphreyj@durhamtech.edu
Calvin Craig, Gaston College, craig.calvin@gaston.edu

Making Friends & Influencing Decisions: Planning a Student Advisory Board in a Community College Library
Presenters:
Lisa Shores, Rowan-Cabarrus CC, lisa.shores@rccc.edu
Tim Hunter, Rowan-Cabarrus CC, timothy.hunter@rccc.edu

All About the New NC LIVE Website
Presenter: Josh Wilson, NC LIVE, help@nclive.org

Friday, March 31 Presentation Documents

8:30 a.m. - 9:20 a.m. Sessions

Community Colleges, Libraries, Librarians, & Student Success
Presenters:
Rejeanor Scott, Edgecombe CC, scottr@edgecombe.edu
Nora Bird, UNC-G, njbird@uncg.edu

Leadership in Community College Libraries: Challenges & Opportunities
Presenter: David Wright, Surry CC, wrightd@surry.edu

Inventory: What Makes Us Crazy
Presenter: Maria Luisa Saldarriaga Osorio, Surry CC, osoriom@surry.edu


9:30 a.m. - 10:20 a.m. Sessions

Telling Your Story!
Presenters:
Michael Crumpton, UNC-G, macrumpt@uncg.edu
Nora Bird, UNC-G, njbird@uncg.edu

Don't Reinvent the Wheel 2.0: Instruction-Bound
Presenters: 
Cheryl Ann Coyle, Central Piedmont CC, Cheryl.Coyle@cpcc.edu
Kory Paulus, CPCC, Kory.Paulus@cpcc.edu


11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Sessions

Engaging Generation Z: High School Students in Community College Libraries
Presenters:
MaryAnne Caudle, Martin CC, mcaudle@martincc.edu
Saundra Pinkham, Beaufort CC, saundra.pinkham@beaufortccc.edu
Millie Sparks, Pitt CC, msparks@email.pittcc.edu
Catherine Tingelstad, Wake Tech CC, cjtingelstad@waketech.edu
Christine Vasica, James Sprunt CC, cvasica@jamessprunt.edu

Information Literacy & Critical Thinking: A QEP Experience
Presenters:
Staci Wilson, Catawba Valley CC, swilson@cvcc.edu
Michael Boone, Catawba Valley CC, mboone@cvcc.edu
Emily Whiteley, Catawba Valley CC, ewhiteley@cvcc.edu


12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Sessions

Community College Library Event Planning: Tips & Tricks
Presenter: Michael Rose, Guilford Tech CC, marose1@gtcc.edu

How I Learned to Stop Worrying & Love My NC LIVE Usage Statistics
Presenters:
Claire Leverett, NC LIVE, claire@nclive.org
Caroline Hallam, NC LIVE, caroline@nclive.org