Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started

Library FAQs -- THE BUILDING

Do you have a map of the library? 


What computers and software are available at the library?

The library has 16 PC desktop computers. These computers run Windows 10 along with Microsoft Office Suite 2016. 


How do I log on to a computer?

Carteret CC students and public patrons can request a barcode at the circulation desk to log on to any of our computers. Public patrons are limited to two hours per day on library computers. 


Can I use my own laptop? 

Curriculum students and public patrons have access to the wireless network (see below for instructions). 


Do you have a scanner?

Computers #2, #6, and #16 have scanners. 


Do you have a photocopier?

The photocopier is near the circulation desk and charges $0.10 per page for letter, legal, and ledger sized copies. 


How do I print?

You can print from any desktop in the library. Generally you can print by selecting "File" and "Print" in whatever program you are using. Your pages will print out at the circulation desk. Printing costs $0.10 per page for black & white, and $0.50 per page for color. 


Do you have a Lost & Found?

Yes, we do. Lost & Found is available at the library's circulation desk. 


What is your phone policy?

The library does not provide a courtesy phone to users. Patrons are asked not to make cell phone calls within the library. 

Library FAQs -- OUR SERVICES

Who can check out books or DVDs?

Anyone with an active library account in good standing at Carteret CC Library can check out books and DVDs.


How do I check out a book or DVD?

Once you have located the item you wish to check out, bring it to the circulation desk. Your Carteret CC Library card is required for any checkouts. 


How do I get a library card?

Please visit the Carteret CC Library's circulation desk. You will need to fill out a registration card. Public patrons will need a valid photo ID and students will need a CCC student ID. For public patrons with a federal ID or an out-of-state ID, we will need something with your local address on it, such as a utility bill. Library cards are free for currently registered Carteret CC students. There is a $5.00 registration fee for public patrons. 


How many books or DVDs can I check out? 

Checkout limits vary according to borrower type. 

Carteret CC student borrowers have the following limits:

  • New Books & Bestsellers - a limit of 3
  • All other books (excluding Reference materials) - no limit
  • Audiobooks & Music CDs - a limit of 3
  • Magazines - a limit of 3
  • Films - a limit of 2

Public borrowers have the following limits:

  • New Books & Bestsellers - a limit of 3
  • All other books (excluding Reference materials) - a limit of 10
  • Audiobooks & Music CDs - a limit of 2
  • Magazines - a limit of 3
  • Films - a limit of 1

Where do I return books? 

You can return books to the circulation desk. For your convenience, a book drop near the road in front of the library is also available. Note: we ask patrons not to return audiobooks and DVDs via the outside book drop. 


What fines do you charge?

  • Overdue Print items - $0.20 per day
  • Overdue Audiobooks and DVDs - $1.00 per day

What if I've lost a book/DVD?

Please contact the circulation desk at 252-222-6213 for information on how to resolve lost library materials. 


My instructor placed something on reserve...

Generally, materials placed on reserve by an instructor are "Library Use Only". These materials can be used in the library at any time during our operating hours. Please contact the circulation desk at 252-222-6213 for more information. 


What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan is a service provided by the library to supplement the research needs of our patrons. If there is a book or journal article you need that is not available through Carteret CC Library or the local public library, we can make a request to other participating libraries for the item to be sent to us. Please note that the majority of libraries will not lend audio or visual materials through Interlibrary Loan. 


How do I place an Interlibrary Loan request? 

To request books or articles through Interlibrary Loan, you will need to have a Carteret CC Library card and your account will need to be in good standing. The forms needed for Interlibrary Loan requests are located at the circulation desk. Please contact the circulation desk at 252-222-6213 for more information. 

Library FAQs -- FINDING INFORMATION

Does the library have my textbook?

Probably not. Unless your instructor placed a copy of your textbook on reserve at the library, you are unlikely to find it on our selves. That said, you can always check the library catalog to see whether a particular book is available at the library. 


Where is the library catalog?

The library catalog is available online. To get there from the library home page, simply click on the "CCC Library Catalog" link. 


How do I use the library catalog?

The CCC Library Catalog is probably no different than catalogs you have used at other libraries. If you are looking for a particular title, you will want to search using the "Title" field. To find works by a particular author, search that author's name using the "Author" field. Finally, for topic-related searches, try placing your topic in the "Words or Phrase" field. 


How do I find a book on the shelf?

To find a book on the shelf, you will need to retrieve its collection and call number from the library catalog. The collection tells you the general area where you will find the book, while the call number gives you the exact location. 


What if the library doesn't own the book I need? 

If the CCC Library does not have the book(s) you need, you can search for and request materials from other community college libraries in North Carolina (CCLINC) through the CCC Library Catalog. 

How to borrow books from other community college libraries: The search default library in the catalog is Carteret Community College. If your item is not available at the CCC Library then you may expand your search by selecting "ALL" and results from additional libraries will be displayed. In addition the catalog allows you to place a book on hold and you will be notified when it arrives. The book will be held at the circulation desk. 

To place a hold on a book, you must have an active library account with no overdues. Click "place hold" next to the item you want. Enter your library barcode number which is located on the back of your library card for User ID, your 4-digit PIN number, and click "Submit hold". 


How can I renew my books online?

CCC Library books can be renewed online through the library catalog. Users can click on "My Account" and choose to "Renew My Items". Users will be asked to log in with their library card number and 4-digit pin number. User must then select items to renew and then click "Renew Selected Items". Books cannot be renewed if user has overdue materials or accrued fines or bills.  


How do I get to the databases?

The majority of the databases available at CCC can be found in NCLIVE (see below for more). NCLIVE databases are browsable by subject. You can view an alphabetical list of all NCLIVE databases by selecting "Browse All". 

Additional databases available at CCC include Statista, Marketline, and STAT!Ref. Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access Statista and Marketline. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number. Contact CCC Library for information on how to access STAT!Ref off-campus. 


What is NCLIVE?

NCLIVE is a collection of databases provided to the citizens of North Carolina. The overwhelming majority of electronic resources (including newspapers, periodicals, and eBooks) that are available to CCC students can be found in NCLIVE. If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access NCLIVE. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.  

You can get to NCLIVE by clicking on the "Search NCLIVE" link on the library's home page. Alternately, you can go directly to http://www.nclive.org


How do I find articles in the databases? 

There is a short answer and a long answer to this question. The short answer is:

  1. Go to NCLIVE
  2. Type your topic into the quick search box
  3. Click "Search"

If you follow the steps above, you'll be searching a handful of the biggest, most popular databases with NCLIVE all at once. These kinds of broad searches are a great way to see what is generally available on a particular topic, but they are somewhat inefficient. 

Smart searching requires that you understand a couple of things about library databases in general. Databases can be topic-specific. For example, ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source is a terrific database, but it only includes nursing and allied health related articles. ERIC (Education) is an education-only database. You will not find other kinds of articles in them, so there is no reason to use them unless your topic is related to their content. Other databases, such as, ProQuest Central, are multi-disciplinary, meaning they contain articles on MANY different subject areas. Also, some databases are format-specific, meaning they only contain particular information formats. As a example, ProQuest Newsstand contains only newspaper and eBooks on EBSCOhost contains only eBooks. So, if you want to search only databases that include a particular topic or format search NCLIVE by selecting a specific database. 


How do I get help with my research?

There are a number of ways to get assistance. You can stop by the library's information desk, call us at 252-222-6247, email us at library@carteret.edu, or message us using the instant messenger on the library's homepage. 


How do I access the campus wireless network?

Students

  • Go to "Connect to a Network"
  • Select CarteretCC
  • Input the WPA key: 2522226196
  • Open the web browser of your choice
  • You should be redirected to the following webpage: https://bsc.carteret.edu
  • If no, type it into the address bar of your browser
  • Input your campus username and password to login

Guests

  • Go to "Connect to a Network"
  • Select CCC Guests
  • A "Welcome to CCC Guests" webpage should automatically load
  •  Select "Continue to Internet"

How do I access library resources off-campus? 

You will need to log in to access NCLIVE and Statista. You can log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number. 

For STAT!Ref, you will first need to create an account on-campus in order to access this resource off-campus.