LibGuides: OST 149: Medical Legal Issues: Home

US Newspapers

US Major Dailies (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

Search Strategies

The larger databases can contain hundreds of thousands of articles. Finding exactly the articles you need for your research assignment depends in large part on using the right search terms. It won’t matter how many articles a database may contain on your subject if you can’t find them. While there’s as much art as skill in generating smart search terms, following these tips can help:

Short keywords. Think of your research topic and try to break it down into smaller pieces. For example, if you are trying to find a case of elder abuse in a nursing home, try typing in: Abuse AND "Nursing Homes". This is because the longer and more specific your keywords, the more articles the database is likely to exclude.

Experiment. Play around with your search terms. Try different wordings. You won’t break the databases. You won’t master database searching overnight either, but the more comfortable you are experimenting with different kinds of searches, the quicker you’ll develop a feel for them.

Tips.
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms or keywords: AND, OR, NOT.
- Use quotation marks for exact phrases.
- Use database limiters to refine searches: full-text, publication date, source type, etc.

APA Citations

Online newspaper article:

Last name, FI. SI. (Year, Month Day). Title. Newspaper. Retrieved from URL

Sun, L. H. (2015, November 11). Study: Almost half of surgeries have medication errors. Chicago Tribune. Retrieved from http://nclive.org/cgi-bin/nclsm?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1732276084?accountid=9912